Speaking the Nations Mind

Shekarau Win Kano APC Senatorial Seats


The All Progressive Congress APC Kano Senatorial primaries were conducted peacefully in the three senatorial zones.

Announcing the Kano South senatorial primaries results, the presiding officer professor Balarabe Abubakar Jakada said the primaries were conducted in sixteen local governments areas of the zone.

He said three candidates contested for the Flagbearer, at which senator Kabiru Ibrahim Gaya won the elections with one million, thirty-five thousand and fifty-seven votes, followed by Abdulrahman Kawu Sumaila who scored three hundred and nine thousand two hundred and nine votes while Alhaji Isa Yahaya Zarewa had fifteen thousand six hundred and forty-three votes.

In Kano central senatorial district Malam Ibrahim Shekarau emerged victorious with forty-nine thousand seven hundred and eighty-one votes as stated by the presiding officer of the primaries Dr Garba Saleh while announcing the results.

Hajiya  Laila Buhari came second with three thousand and four votes.

Followed by Alhaji  Sule Halilu with one thousand and one vote.

The situation in Kano North Senatorial Zone was more peaceful where the two major contestants Senator Barau Jibril and Alhaji Abdullahi Tijjani Mohammad Gwarzo reached a consensus which leads Alhaji Abdullahi Tijjani Mohammad Gwarzo to step down for senator Barau Jibril.

With such development, Senator Barau Jibril emerged victorious unopposed.

Speaking to journalist in Kano senator Kabiru Ibrahim Gaya commended the party supporters for giving them there mandate and appealed to other aspirants who contested with him to come forward and join hands together with the aimed of moving the nation forward.