Speaking the Nations Mind

PDP Wins Taraba’s Takum 1 Bye-Election


The Peoples Democratic Party has won the Takum 1 state constituency House of Assembly election held on Saturday.

The PDP candidate Ajiya Samson Ajiya beat Atem Ansho, his All Progressives Congress rival, polling 10, 725 votes out of the 14,337 votes cast.

Ansho got 3,268 votes, according to the result published by the Independent National Electoral Commission on its Twitter handle @inecnigeria.

Nine political parties took part in the election created with the death of the holder, Ibi Hosea, in January this year. Hosea was also a member of the PDP and the seat, according to pundits, was considered safe for the PDP.

Apart from the PDP and APC, the parties who took part in the election, were ACPN, DA, PPA, SDP, UDP, YDP and YPP.

Jankada Taninga Audu of the Social Democratic Party(SDP) got 203 votes from the six wards where the election took place.

Governor Darius Ishaku is from Takum, also the birthplace of Nigeria’s richest retired army general and former chief of staff, Theophilus Yakubu Danjuma.

Please see the full results below: