Speaking the Nations Mind

APC Clears All 389 Councillorship Seats In Osun LG Poll


The Osun Independent Electoral Commission (OSIEC) as announced all the 389 candidates of the All Progressive Congress (APC) as winners of the just concluded councillorship election in the state.

Chairman of OSIEC, Mr Segun Oladitan, who announced the official results on Sunday in Osogbo, the state capital said 318 out of the candidates were returned unopposed.

He added that 128 of the unopposed returned candidates are from Osun Central senatorial district, while 177 came from Osun West and the remaining 73 from Osun East senatorial district of the state.

Oladitan said the remaining 71 other candidates that added up the total councillorship seat figure were the ones voted for at the poll which held on Saturday.

He informed reporters that 52 of the voted candidates came from Osun East and 13 from the west, while the remaining six came from Osun Central senatorial district.

The OSIEC chairman further declared all the APC candidates who participated in the election as winners and returned as councillors of the state.

Consequent to the announcement and declaration, certificates of return were issued to all the councillors – both elected and unopposed.

OSIEC had earlier announced that 318 candidates of the APC were contesting unopposed, leaving only 71 wards to be contested for by the remaining candidates.

The commission also stated that elected councillors would be running a parliamentary administrative system at the local government, where they would elect a chairman from amongst themselves.